Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Cold Spring Harbor Jr./Sr. HS Social Studies Department

Megan Gieser - Director of Humanities
Phone: 631-367-6883
Email: mgieser@csh.k12.ny.us    

  • To encourage in students a love of knowledge in itself and as a means of becoming informed and active citizens in a democratic society.
  • To establish in students an understanding of how the past has helped shape the world of today.
  • To create in students an awareness and appreciation of cultural diversity and interdependence on local, national and global levels.
  • To develop in students an understanding of the philosophical basis and nature of the political and socio-economic systems which exist in the contemporary world.
  • To provide a learning environment that encourages students to think critically and analytically.
  • To expose students to diverse teaching methods and styles as well as to a variety of learning experiences.
  • To develop in students the ability to communicate clearly and comprehensively in speech and writing.
  • To develop in students basic social science skills, including the use of long-distance learning technology, as a means of enabling them to study and understand better the world around them.
  • To help prepare students to function successfully at an academically competitive university.
  • To encourage department members to keep abreast of new developments in teaching methodology and the social sciences.

Curriculum Guide - Grade 7
Curriculum Guide - Grade 8

Social Studies Department Staff, Course and Contact Information 2023-2024

  • Teacher Courses Email Address
    Dr. Michael Andrews AP World History; Tournament Debate; Economics; Public Affairs mandrews@csh.k12.ny.us
    Ms. Caryn Athanasio AP Psychology; US History Regents; Professional Sports and the American Economy; Psychology cathanasio@csh.k12.ny.us
    Ms. Danielle Beach Global History and Geography II Regents; Foundations of Research Honors; AP Human Geography dbeach@csh.k12.ny.us
    Mr. Jeffrey Cootner Social Studies 7; AP US History jcootner@csh.k12.ny.us
    Mr. Richard Greeney AP United States History; US History Regents; Mysteries in History; Global History & Geography I Regents rgreeney@csh.k12.ny.us
    Ms. Allison Halloran AP Seminar; Global History & Geography I Regents; AP European History ahalloran@csh.k12.ny.us
    Mr. Vincent Natale AP US Government & Politics; Social Studies 8; Economics; Public Affairs vnatale@csh.k12.ny.us
    Mr. Anthony Pesca AP Economics; Economic Research & Wealth Management apesca@csh.k12.ny.us
    Mr. Brian Schiffmacher AP Human Geography; Social Studies 7 bschiffmacher@csh.k12.ny.us
    Mr. Christopher Topping Social Studies 8; Pre-AP World History & Geography; AP World History ctopping@csh.k12.ny.us